MAC Next To Nothing Face Colour: Filter without a Filter?

Behold the first of its kind, MAC’s Next To Nothing Face Colour. It is not a foundation. It is not a BB cream. It is a, well, face colour.

FullSizeRender (23).jpg

UPDATE: I have been using the Next To Nothing Face Colour just about everyday and I set only my T-zone with my Mineralize Skinfinish Natural. It makes the skin look healthy and radiant.

I was totally intrigued when they announced the launch of this product because MAC has never put out anything like it before.

What MAC says it is?

An ultra balmy fluid infused with nourishing ingredients and opalescent microspheres for a youthful glow that looks lit from within. This sheer tinted cream can be used under or over foundation, or to bring a translucent luminosity to skin. The cushiony, smoothing texture glides over skin, diminishing the look of imperfections and fine lines, while moisturizing and protecting skin. Skin looks immediately retouched!

(SOURCE: MAC)

Now that’s one helluva claim!

Okay now here’s the bit everyone’s been waiting for!! What does it actually feel like??

It is super, super soft and it goes on sheer while adding luminosity to your skin! The formula is so intriguing. It feels like foundation mixed with moisturiser. I sometimes mix my moisturiser with my Pro Longwear foundation and it feels similar to that texture. Similar but not the same, this formula is so lightweight and I think it is advisable to moisturise before putting it on if you have dry skin like I do.

Now, let me show you!

(Both photos below are taken under natural light, without flash)

FullSizeRender (21)
FullSizeRender (22)

Take note that if you have blemishes this is not going to help cover it like a foundation will. MAC Artists on Instagram have shown various ways to use this product. So if you require more coverage, you can use this on top of your concealer or foundation.

It does blur pores like it claims. It makes the skin look smooth and well, like it has a filter on but then again that’s for the clear parts of your face.

I do love, love the super soft texture and the luminosity but I must say that to be used alone, you do need good, clear skin or you will be dissapointed. But then again this is not a foundation so it’s  not meant to give you full coverage, it was made to give you a perfect no makeup look, which is why MAC calls it a tinted cream.

The photos below show the soft-focus glow it gives. (No flash)

FullSizeRender (24)
IMG_3272

Can you see that GLOW!

I am an NC45 and I got it in the colour Medium Deep. The colours follow the Mineralize Skinfinish Natural colours I believe.

Note: Medium Deep is a little too light but it is not very noticable because of the sheer formula. Dark is a better match for NC45.

Packaging

It comes with a pump that can be locked, totally handy and the bottle is a type of frosted glass.

Also, with this face colour you get 35ml for RM160, it is now available online at MAC Cosmetics Malaysia.

  • Rating: 4.5 / 5
  • Pros: Long-wearing, blurs pores similar to the strength of a good primer, makes skin appear smoother and adds luminosity, bottle comes with a pump, 35 ml of product.
  • Cons: Does not cover blemishes, super sheer coverage.
  • Would I repurchase? Yes! This is your answer to all the days that you want luminous, natural-looking skin. I wore it for about 9 hours and despite all the sweating, it held up so well! When I came home, my skin still looked flawless and naturally glowing.
  • Final thoughts: I do not like to wear foundation everyday, and powder alone is a little boring so this is such a great alternative for daily use. It’s quite genius actually and very in-line with the no makeup-makeup trend. The best part is it smooths skin and blurs pores just like a primer! Consider trying this if you like more natural makeup and have pretty clear skin.

P.S When you need more coverage, mix it with your foundation. It works great that way and still retains its’ glow and looks very natural. I have got the Next To Nothing Face Powder too, I will review it soon.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.